The opponent is Roh Si-hwan of Hanwha

This year’s KBO League MVP will be unveiled at the 2023 Shinhan Bank SOL KBO Awards at the Grand Ballroom of the Westin Chosun Hotel in Seoul at 2 p.m. on the 27th.

Earlier, the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) announced 16 people, including Pedi, as MVP candidates, but there is no opponent to threaten Pedi.

Pedi, who entered the KBO League this season, pitched 180 ⅓ innings in 30 games, with 20 wins and 6 losses, 209 strikeouts and a 2.00 ERA.

Pedi, who ranked first in ERA, multiple wins, and strikeouts with his overwhelming skills, made a great achievement for pitcher Triple Crown.

Previously, only Sun Dong-yeol (1986, 1989, 1990, 1991), Ryu Hyun-jin (2006), and Yoon Seok-min (2011) had achieved the triple crown, but Pedi was the first foreign pitcher to do so.

In particular, Pedi also set a milestone of 20 wins and 200 strikeouts in 37 years since Sun Dong-yeol in 1986, and unfortunately failed to record an ERA in the 1 point range in 13 years since Ryu Hyun-jin in 2010.

Pedi was unlucky to be replaced by Ko Jong-wook’s right arm after pitching a scoreless 2 outs in the 6th inning in the last regular season game on October 16, and eventually missed the ERA in the 1 point range due to a lack of an out count.

The key is how many votes Pedi, who reserved the MVP, will receive. The MVP is selected by pre-online voting by media companies belonging to the Korea Baseball Reporters Association and local media companies, but the voting has already been completed.

Although the MVP voting method has changed several times, including multiple votes and multiple points, Park Chul-soon was the only unanimous MVP in 1982.

Lee Jung-hoo (Kium Heroes), who received the MVP last year along with five batting wins (batting rate, hit, RBI, on-base rate, and slugging rate), also failed to win the award unanimously due to a lack of three votes. Of the three votes that Lee Jung-hoo failed to receive, two were thrown to pitcher Ahn Woo-jin (Kium), who won two (average ERA, strikeout), and Lee Dae-ho, who burned the last flame of active duty. Still, 97.2% of the votes recorded by Lee Jung-hoo is the second-best record ever.

Will Pedi be able to win a unanimous award beyond Lee Jung-hoo. If you look at his achievements, it is possible, but it can lead to unexpected votes. There is a possibility that Noh Si-hwan (Hanwha Eagles), who topped the list of home runs (31) and RBIs (101), as well as Son Ah-seop (NC) and Hong Chang-ki (LG Twins), may steal some votes.


3 thoughts on “The opponent is Roh Si-hwan of Hanwha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *